Constitution & By-laws






The name of the organization shall be the WEED SCIENCE SOCIETY OF NORTH CAROLINA.  The acronym “WSSNC” may be used as an official abbreviation or may be referred to as “The Society” when appropriate.  In the event of dissolution, the residual assets of the organization will be turned over to one or more organizations which themselves are exempt as organizations described in sections 501(c)(3) and 170(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 or corresponding sections of any prior or future Internal Revenue Code, or to the Federal, State or Local government for exclusive public purpose.



The Society shall be a non-profit organization and shall have no capital stock.



Notwithstanding any other provision of these articles, this corporation shall not carry on any other activities not permitted to be carried on by (a) a corporation exempt from Federal income tax under section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue code of 1954 or the corresponding provision of any future United States Internal Revenue Law or (b) a corporation contributions to which are deductible under section 170(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 or any other corresponding provision of any future United States Internal Revenue Law.



The purposes for which the society is organized are exclusively charitable, educational, and scientific within the meaning of section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code including advancing the discipline of weed science in North Carolina and improving the well-being of the citizens of the state through a better understanding of weeds and their management.



The objectives of The Society are as follows:

1. The membership shall provide information to the general public within the discipline of weed science to better inform them of benefits of weed science technology and the detrimental effects of weeds on society.

2. To develop among the general public a high level of interest and understanding of problems caused by weeds.

3. Foster and support research, teaching, extension, and problem-solving efforts in weed science activities.

4. Promote the safe and effective use of herbicides and other weed management technologies in North Carolina.



Membership in The Society shall be extended to all individuals interested in weed science and/or weed management.  The classes of membership shall be:

1. Active:  Individual voting members who have paid annual dues or registered at the most recent annual meeting.

2. Supporting: Any individual or firm concerned with the manufacture, distribution, or application of weed management material or devices who contributes financially to The Society.

3. Student:  Undergraduate and graduate students interested in weed science (same privileges as active members).

4. Honorary: Individuals who have made outstanding contributions to weed science or weed management and who have been selected by the Executive Board.



The officers of The Society shall be the President, Vice-President, and Secretary-Treasurer.

The Executive Board shall consist of the President, who shall serve as Chairman of the Board, the Vice-President, Immediate Past President, Secretary-Treasurer, and four Directors-at-Large.  The Directors-at-Large shall represent factions not present among the officers which should include members of academia, government, industry, business, and students.



There shall be at least one meeting annually of the general membership of The Society, notice of which may be mailed to each member by the Secretary at least thirty (30) days prior to said meeting.  Special meetings may be called by the Executive Board.  Five (5) members of the Executive Board shall constitute a Quorum for transaction of business.

Elections will be held annually, and voting and holding of office shall be limited to active and student members only.



The Constitution may be amended at any regular or called meeting by an affirmative vote of a majority of the membership present when the general membership has been notified by mail of such intention to amend at least thirty (30) days prior to such meeting or by mail ballot with a minimum return time of thirty (30) days.

Ballots will be audited by the Executive Board.

The President shall appoint chairmen for the committees as needed such as Auditing, Finance, Local Arrangements, Membership, Nominations, Program, Public Relations, Resolutions, and Supporting Membership.



Amended March-1989

Effective March-1990

Amended March-2004

Effective March-2005